New Projects: Energy and Inertia and Seeking Balance Once Again

Things are beginning to speed up.

ajmac, EveryStockPhoto.com
ajmac, EveryStockPhoto.com

After a long time spent nurturing seedlings of thought and possibility, I am watching some of my work begin to blossom into the world. I have had the luxury of sticking close to the shelter of the earth, playing with concepts and ideas without risking their exposure to the elements of risk. But now, I realize I am not sticking so close to the underbrush. It is time to move outward.

For one thing, this blog has called to more readers, and while we are still a small, intimate community, I feel the pull of those who enjoy my presence here each day (thanks to all of you for the encouragement and receptivity!).

My healing work is beginning to take a new, vital shape. I find that I want and need to take loving ownership of what I am learning. I want to find the courage and the confidence to share my growing skills with the world. I am getting involved with a related business, a product I really believe in, and am both excited and a little nervous to see where all this will take me.

The productive serenity of the last week at home, when desire was my only guide, really represents the quietness that has surrounded me for the last few years. Plenty has been shifting and quaking under the surface, but externally, things mostly moved along at manageable pace.

Now I find myself back at work, immersed in my public life even as these “extracurricular” elements are reaching new and demanding heights. Some places are not so private anymore as I become willing to take the leap and put myself out there in support of my passions and my vision.

John-p, EveryStockPhoto.com
John-p, EveryStockPhoto.com

And so I decided that inertia would be my friend. I would become the woman in motion most likely to stay in motion since I could not risk a pause, lest the series of new spinning stars should slip from their orbits. In the past, all of the inner work I did just begot more inner work. Now it seems to becoming time that the outer work should lead me further toward the sun.

“Inertia” was lingering near the front of my brain because Anodea Judith uses it when she talks about the third chakra, the yellow chakra of fire, in her book Wheels of Life: A User’s Guide to the Chakra System. She talks about the way that a fire that begins to burn will most likely continue to grow. All I could think about as I began to feel so full of all these new projects was that I needed that fire to roar and sustain me through all of my various ventures. I wanted energy to flow through my fingertips and enliven every moment. I’d fit in exercise in the thirty minutes before bed if I needed to, and if I needed to sleep less, I would do that too.

dsc01509Then I sat down to write this tonight and I remember how much I love and crave the quiet, meandering process of collecting my thoughts in this space each day. Sitting at my beloved desk with a cat on my lap has little to do with a constantly increasing conflagration in my already busy mind. Something didn’t add up, so I went back to Judith’s book and read a little more closely.

The third chakra, in her view, is all about inertia, but it is also about the will. Inertia, even the kind that keeps you moving and productive, is not necessarily a good thing. Inertia is a kind of oblivious momentum that has little to do with consciousness and everything to do with feeling powerless. How many people suffer from being chronically driven overachievers not because they are enjoying being so good at everything, but because they are terrified to slow down and see what really may lurk within their usually frantic minds? It takes strength of the will to overcome these unconscious forces and summon energy when it is needed and call upon silence when it is time for stillness.

These are lessons I have learned and thought were deeply rooted in my core. This slowing down over the last couple of years was a hard won process that enabled me to listen and be after years of running around like a woman desperately afraid to fail. Suddenly, I wanted to throw all that work away for the sake of increased efficiency the moment a few projects seemed to be taking on new life.

In the face of all my excitement that was fueled by such confidence in my freshly forged sense of wholeness, I nearly lost sight of my integrity and my truth before I even began.

I said that I wanted to align my priorities in 2009. I decided “align” was preferable to “balance” because balance seems to be all about a crazy dance between opposites. And yet, I think I must realize that though I treasure alignment as an ideal, we have so little control over things in life, even the growth of our own dreams, and we must allow things to flow as they will.

Sometimes balancing the competing beasts of possibility is the best we can do. As I look upon all that I wish to accomplish, I think I can embrace balance as a fine strategy for the moment. It certainly beats losing myself to the fires of inertia and being burnt to a crisp!

4 thoughts on “New Projects: Energy and Inertia and Seeking Balance Once Again

  1. Mish January 6, 2009 / 12:30 pm

    “balancing the competing beasts…”

    My firebird is complimented and muted by my water dragon. I can (sometimes) keep them from overtaking one another, which isn’t always easy.

    Change and leaping into life can be exciting and nerve-racking. Here’s to skydiving.

    • girlwhocriedepiphany January 7, 2009 / 10:02 am

      Dear Brandi, It’s a constant process, isn’t it, trying to find your mind in the midst of all the mindlessness? I wonder if it is harder now that we live in such an automatic world. If you had to draw water from a well, after a while that would be a mindless task, and yet you would always be connected to the water that sustained you. Now, there is more time to read poetry and meditate because the tap always provides, but then we lose track of the miracle that is the stuff of life.

      Dear Mish, Thank you for this brilliant image of the competing elements! Even the mention of skydiving makes my palms sweaty – I guess that is one more reason to take it on, right?

      Blessings and gratitude,
      Marisa

  2. brandi January 6, 2009 / 2:11 pm

    oh yeah, sometimes I am totally mindlessly doing.

    thank you for speaking of this and sharing your thoughts on the subtle differences. lately I’ve been wondering about what motivates the movement and willingly stepping back to discern how and where and why I move.

  3. Mish January 8, 2009 / 2:29 pm

    When I can afford to do so, the beasts will be dancing together on my skin.

    Yep. Thanks to skydiving, a friend was able to claim his life. The changes have been remarkable. Even before I heard that, I’ve been wanting to skydive and thought in some twisted way it would be a good (scary) way to overcome my physical and metaphorical fear of falling.

Leave a Reply

