The Theme of 2009: Align

img_10611I almost hesitated to write about my chosen word of the year for 2009 because everybody else is doing it. Then I remembered how many great things I have missed out on because I’ve felt the need to be a rebel and refused to follow healthy collective wisdom.

It is also possible that I didn’t want to air my intentions in this town square because I didn’t want anything to hold me to this alternative sort of resolution in case I decided to take a detour off this road to consciousness and bury myself in some unenlightened misery for a spell.

(Am I the only contrary minded creature out there who wants to keep all of her options open – even those options that are all about limitations and hibernation and go against all of my better judgment? I doubt it. Oh, how we cling to those terrible ties that bind us!)

At any rate, inspiration struck today and I finally settled on my word, my guiding concept for 2009:

align

Maybe it came from too much time on the chiropractor’s table yesterday, somehow this word seems to be strong enough to carry me through all of the lessons I want to learn in the next year.

  • Align with my soul’s purpose.
  • Align with truth.
  • Align intention and action.
  • Align body, mind, and spirit.
  • Align the energy that swirls in my chakras.
  • Align with the positive energies of community.
  • Align the dueling parts of myself.

img_1069“Align” feels stronger than “balance” (holding space for all those opposites forces) and more immediate than “integrate” (folding the energies into my being), though both of these ideas are certainly vital parts of this intention.

I trust that I will be able to move through life with greater sensitivity, beauty, and wisdom when I can draw my power into one column of life affirming strength.

The physical body functions at its best when the spine is in alignment. The energy system functions at its best when all channels are lined up and open so that things can flow freely. Yoga teaches us to pull in toward the mid-line to find stability in our limbs. I will align even the most disparate seeming parts of myself as I work on finding the secret of wholeness.

In the same ways that the stars seem to align to bring forth the great events in life, I align self and soul to greet the potential greatness of the new year.

What will your theme for 2009 be? Please send along your ideas and links and plans and schemes along so the collective wisdom can continue to build!

13 thoughts on “The Theme of 2009: Align

  1. blisschick December 30, 2008 / 10:21 pm

    A most excellent word indeed. And it seems that maybe there is some serious chakra work ahead — especially since this word presented itself to you while you were having your spine worked on. Hmmm…

    I knew that my word — Fly — was the right choice, because it scared me, made me nervous. 🙂

  2. blisschick December 30, 2008 / 10:22 pm

    Oh, and I too balk against things that are being “done by everyone,” as you say, but I love this word of the year concept — it’s just a use of the beauty and power of mantra and vibration.

  3. pam at beyondjustmom December 30, 2008 / 10:43 pm

    Align is a beautiful word, and I like how you compare it to “balance”. Balance has always bugged me because it implies there is a perfect point on this teeter-totter that’s always changing. As somone who feels like she’s herding mutiple cats in life, align might be just the right thing. But then someone’s already doing it. 😉 What to do?

  4. brandi December 31, 2008 / 9:19 am

    no I do that all the time-resist something because it seems ‘too’ popular. Like I still haven’t read eat, pray, love for that reason…lol.

    you know, my word last year was clarity and that intention took me on a journey I’d never have imagined. I think it’s more about putting the word out there and seeing what shows up as opposed to actively trying to align every day. So your journey is probably not going to look ‘aligned’-it may look like pure hell at first (mine did) but much will be gained in retrospect (at least, that was my experience).

    so no worries-I won’t hold you to anything because who knows what lessons and paths this intention will take you!!!

  5. Nerdy Renegade December 31, 2008 / 9:25 am

    This is a fabulous post! (Especially since I work for a chiropractor!)

    The wisdom you’ve been spilling forth lately is amazing. Such treasures you are sharing!

    I really like what you’ve written here. Plan to print it out and post it in my journal.

    Don’t have my word for 2009 yet. Still somewhat stuck in the messy-ness of life and the fog hasn’t cleared enough yet for me to see my vision. I’m on the cusp, though, I can sense it.

    Blessings to you, dear one, for your continued alignment. I look forward to following along with your journey – and being blessed by your sharing in this forum 🙂

  6. Tess December 31, 2008 / 9:31 am

    Yes, align sounds just right, for the reasons you mention. I wish you the most aligned of years in 2009, and am so glad I found your blog in 2008. Blessings to you.

  7. MamaPeg is Watching Out for You December 31, 2008 / 11:29 am

    I like the word align. I loved the statetment: Align with my soul’s purpose. Very strong imagery for me. I haven’t given much thought to 2009 although today seems like the right day to do it. I’m glad I found your blog as well.

  8. Ecoyogi December 31, 2008 / 12:55 pm

    Align is a great word. And I think it’s a wise comment that brandi made about not knowing how that will unfold.

    I’ve used the yogic process of working with intention for years: Sankalpa. I worked with “Freedom” for a few years and was that a ride. Lots and lots of letting go that I didn’t know I wanted or was ready for.

    Now something new can emerge. My word is a hybrid: commune + communities = commun(iti)e(s). As in with nature and people.

    Bring it on!

    • girlwhocriedepiphany December 31, 2008 / 3:38 pm

      Dear Bliss, I am reading Anodea Judith’s Wheels of Life right now, and it is giving me a new appreciation of the chakras both as a healer and as a whirling ball of energy myself. The chakras offer such a great lens through which to understand our bodies, spirits, and the whole sense of interconnection that ensnares us so beautifully.
      And yes, isn’t it great to be able to choose to step into community and realize the strength that builds when so many of us work on such a simple yet powerful exercise together?

      Dear Pam, Come align with me! Isn’t it funny that as much as “balance” seems a great touchstone, it really implies simple managing all the craziness? I want to take some of that craziness and transform it so it can learn to stand in line. Oh, but there will lots of mad free flowing joy too…

      Dear Brandi, Do read Eat, Pray, Love. I was lucky enough to find it when it was brand new and everybody’s mother-in-law didn’t have it by her arm chair, but it is still a great book. You are so right – I have a feeling I will be sitting here 365 days from now, shaking my head at the great sprawl that 2009 will end up to be. But, we live in the present, moment, right? (As she sits a little straighter to keep her spine in alignment!)

      Dear Nerdy Renegade, Thank you so much for your kind words and your support. I recommend a good adjustment and a hot shower – the word just burst forth for me after that! I am so glad to have you along as I wander this path, so meandering and so straight.

      Dear Tess, Finding you was one of the great blog triumphs of ’08 as well. Here’s to ’09!

      Dear MamaPeg, I am so glad that you found me and I am so glad that I might have helped you step into 2009 in some small way.

      Dear EcoYogi, I love your amalgamated vision. I am sure that you have learned so much from letting all that freedom fly that you will thrive as you encounter all new forms of connection.

      Thanks and blessing to all. I am so lucky to have such sisters to explore 2009 with! Marisa

  9. treehousejukebox December 31, 2008 / 7:16 pm

    Align…that’s a great one! I’m glad you shared it.

    I haven’t done the word thing, though it seems like a very powerful, year-long intention.

  10. Danny Lucas January 1, 2009 / 1:52 am

    My favorite Christmas song has long been O Holy Night.

    The music is enchanting, but the words are haunting, and explosive with truth.

    The first stanza has an intrigue for me, and I think most people miss it.

    “O Holy night, the stars are brightly shining
    It is the night of our dear Savior’s birth
    Long lay the world in sin and error pining
    Til He appeared and the soul felt it’s worth
    A thrill of hope the weary world rejoices
    For yonder breaks a new and glorious morn”.

    That’s the stanza; the world was out of alignment….”pining” in sin and error.

    NOW, comes the alignment!
    He appeared….and….
    The soul FELT it’s worth.

    Imagine YOUR soul….feeling it’s worth!

    And the first result of being in Align???

    A thrill of hope!

    The best is yet to come Marisa.
    Happy New Year.

  11. Graciel January 1, 2009 / 8:24 pm

    Yes, I love your word. YES! My word switched from “fly” to “bloom”. A more grounded approach was needed for 2009. I left a comment under yours in my word post for you to read. 🙂

    I look forward to aligning myself with good energy here on your blog in the year ahead.

    Deep blessings to you!
    xo Graciel

    • girlwhocriedepiphany January 3, 2009 / 11:14 am

      Dear Treehouse & Yolanda – May all of the new year’s magic and blessings come to you too!

      Dear Danny, Thanks bringing my word into such a gorgeous and meaningful context. I have never really paid close enough intention to what I was actually singing in that first stanza (“Jingle Bells” that carol is not – but that is why we need it, yes?). You fresh perspective is definitely a new year’s blessing for me. Wishing you all hope and love in the brilliance of what is to come.

      Dear Graciel, Bloom in alignment to our souls’ purpose we will!

      Thanks and blessings to all,
      Marisa

Leave a Reply

