Healing is the Dance to Awakening

And so the first year of my healing classes concluded today. For all of the mad and beautiful directions that I have flown in the last few days, I give you something simple, a definition of healing that I love to wrap my mind around:

To heal someone is to facilitate her awakening.

Dornburg fuschia

It is not about the healer, it is not about specialized training, it is not about trying to do anything specific. It is about helping another person, in some small way, move from the fog of daily life into a place of glittering awareness.

Again, that idea of acting the midwife rises to the surface, and again it has nothing to do with the physical journey of bringing forth a child. The deeper I get into training as a healer, the less mystical the process begins to seem in some ways. I am realizing that the nation of healing is a truly democratic one, a place that is open to all people who look upon others with compassion and wish for the very best in this world.

Every day, I begin to understand that change really does begin within the individual and then ripples into the greater pool of life. This belief allows me to say that healing really is as simple as opening our eyes to our true selves. From that place of wholeness we can then see that we are all connected to the Divine Source. Connection to the Great Spirit, in turn, binds us all to one another because if God is in one of us then God is in all of us. We can always hold that sacred nature in common with all beings.

We are not all called upon to take up the title and duties of healers, but we are all born into a relationship with the earth and the life that surrounds us. In that relationship can we find the connection and the compassion to help carry others along to new senses of awakening?

5 thoughts on “Healing is the Dance to Awakening

  1. Lunarmusings December 8, 2008 / 1:01 pm

    This definition of healing is gorgeous. I have just written it down and posted it above my work space.

    Its an interesting journey I find myself on. After 10 years as a massage therapist, I find that I am having an awakening of my own in how I approach my practice and how I hold space for the unfoldment of my clients.

    I’m looking forward to reading more of your thoughts!

    e

  2. brandi December 8, 2008 / 2:07 pm

    “To heal someone is to facilitate her awakening”

    wow.

    like smack me upside the head wow.

    I always thought of healing as ‘fixing’. I often shied away from the word as I associated it with ‘broken’.

    but no. I see now, with your amazing post, how healing is about blossoming, becoming whole.

    what an amazing shift.

    and thank you, truly, for your words of encouragement and support and love on my blog today. It means a tremendous amount.

  3. Mish December 8, 2008 / 3:39 pm

    Beautifully said.

  4. Graciel December 8, 2008 / 6:45 pm

    Such a beautiful moment for me just now, the stumbling upon your blog, your little table of truth in the town square.

    I see you receive epiphanies. I see, as well ,you offer them.

    I shall return…

  5. girlwhocriedepiphany December 9, 2008 / 8:00 am

    Isn’t that an amazing description? I love those moments when you finally settle on a definition that can really hold the power of something so broad and complex, yet organic and basic as healing. When my teacher gave us this bit of wisdom I just suddenly realized how all the dots could connect and how healing really could be possible.

    Thanks to all for reading and commenting!

Leave a Reply

