At the End of the Day

At the end of the day, there is a great deal of mathematics to be done.

Did I cross enough off my to-do list? Did I treat everyone I encountered with respect? Did I eat foods that supported my body? Did I clean up the messes I caused and pitch in to help with those I did not? Did I write, practice yoga, meditate, give the cats enough attention?

During a writing workshop a couple of years ago I met an Irishwoman who is one of my wise women role models. She said, as I sought guidance in the months before my wedding, “at the end of the day all that matters is that you are together and in love.” When I can remember it, “at the end of day” is the phrase that helps me put things in perspective. At the end of the day, all that matters is that I cultivated love in all that I touched. Only when I am being too hard on myself does that nourishing phrase turn into a sort of edict about attainment and success.

While I think of the brief time I was able to tale in this wise, wise woman’s warmth, I continue to play with the idea of identity and how split ourselves into countless pieces so we can cover all of the bases. Another gem from this woman from Cork was about turning to “the woman at the head of the table,” the noble creature who keeps order over all of the other characters that make up the personality. One needn’t worry about being swept away by the part of herself that is too bossy or too conceited or too insecure when she can trust one woman to sit regally and keep everyone in check with a kind, firm hand. That woman at the head of the table, of course, is the finest expression of yourself, the one with the clarity and the discipline to show your best face to the world.

I love this image, and rely on it when I want to become the queen who can master her emotions and do what must be done – be it heading to work or writing another page. At the same time, I wonder if giving the different aspects of yourself a table to sit around and treating them like a bunch of crazy relations gives them too much power.

Depending on which tradition I want to ally myself with today, I can either look at this as a great technique for finding the most ideal part of myself or I look it as a way to perpetuate the false dramas of humanity. If this world is just an illusion, maya, adding extra players to my inner world hinders me from realizing Wisdom. How many mystics and Eastern teachers say that one enters true union with the Divine when she recognizes that possessions and creeds and personality traits are mere details?

I am left to wonder what to work on first – ordering the various pieces of my identity or trying to transcend everything that I believe defines my identity. Much of the time, I am marooned somewhere in the middle, feeding myself on a combination of pop psychology and mysticism. I guess this tension is part of what it means to be alive and seeking in the 21st century…

One thought on “At the End of the Day

  1. Lauren Bellon October 22, 2008 / 4:44 pm

    Beautiful…I needed to read this today. Stumbled on your site from your comments over at BlissChick. It gave me just the inspiration I needed to work on my own post later tonight. For what it’s worth – I think that regal woman sitting at the head of the table is transcendence. On silent 10-day meditation retreats, I have come to find that I must sometimes resist my urge to seek out the teacher’s guidance, that my own inner Buddha – who has always been a she in my mind without my meaning her to be – has all of the wisdom I need to respond to whatever random challenges my mind is manufacturing….more later tonight over on my own blog. Truly – thanks for such a a wonderful post.

Leave a Reply

