The Degree To Which We Feel the Chill

Jan 1 snow

A quick trip to the mailbox in the moments between moving from a toasty car to an almost cozy house gave me a few moments under the stars tonight. Our neighbors’ woodsmoke hung heavily in the air and the snow squeaked under my feet as it does when the temperature threatens to linger at zero. Even here on the fringes of the “country” a great stretch of the sky from the horizon to Orion’s edge (perhaps his elbow?) was shaded pink with the lights of the nearby town, but still the constellations stretched with such glory across the top of the world, all at once chilled dignity and ecstatic brilliance.

This was the end of the sort of day that almost everyone complained about. It was cold, truly cold, and though the sun shone brightly, it was difficult to find the place between suffering from the frigid air and sweating under the layers of woolen compensation once you made it inside. During the drive home, I was listening to NPR as usual and heard a piece in the “You Must Read This” series. The contributer was talking about the solace she found in reading Chekhov in Syracuse, New York while she was a teenager. I don’t have much affection for Chekhov, particularly, but we don’t live all that far from there and certainly I understood her talk of the cold. What hit my artistic sensibilities (and my general refusal to use two words when twelve might have the particular lilt I am hoping for) was her description of the climate: “Some years it got so cold it felt like someone was trying to kill us.” Clunk.

Alright, so I might have said that differently (the way the cold seemed to bent on exchanging our bones for icicles or something, but I’m not working with a three minute time limit and well, no one has asked me to broadcast my opinion of books on National Public Radio), but her word choice really just got my attention about what seems to be a broader (and less nit picky) issue.Jan 1 snow

To personify the cold as an agent trying to kill you is to plant yourself (and your city) smack at the center of the universe. It is to take the movement of atmospheric currents and the tilt of the sun personally. Somehow, that just seems a massive waste of energy (the question of climate change aside in this situation, of course). What sort of state do open ourselves to if the weather becomes such an adversary even as we sit comfortably behind the windowpane, teacup in hand? Are we so mentally and spiritually fragile that the cold can penetrate places a parka cannot protect us from?

As soon as I say this, I realize that a week ago I was dissecting the way the darkening days leading to the Solstice set me to contemplate death. Though I did not suggest that the absent sun was in on an assassination plot, I certainly offered my fate to be influenced by waning daylight and other unearthly agents.

Perhaps I am not exactly certain what I am trying to say here, beyond attempting to call for a balance between recognizing that we are creatures constantly affected by our natural world and getting tangled up in blaming nature for its crusade against our personal comfort. How do we understand ourselves to be inextricably bound to the web of all creation and yet maintain a centeredness that means we are not thrown off balance every time the wind blows?

The only answer I can begin to offer is to practice acceptance, to be present to the world around us yet know that we bear stillness within. Since my topic here is winter, maybe I do not drag the metaphor to far to think of the castle that stands firm even after one shakes the snow globe – one steady force amidst a shower of white?

3 thoughts on “The Degree To Which We Feel the Chill

  1. painter of blue January 5, 2008 / 2:36 pm

    I struggle like mad with accepting winter. Physically it harms me, brings me pain. Mentally the darkening days makes me grouchy. I feel the beauty and necessity of winter as part of the cycle of life. But its a question of degree. How hard does it have to be? And just this week, my family & I have decided to move to warmer ground…

  2. girlwhocriedepiphany January 7, 2008 / 8:05 pm

    I am unique in that I can swear my brain functions better in the cold. I think it is at least in part that I am free of the tyrannical sunshine that taunts me in my grandmother’s voice, calling me a housecat and inciting me to go out and play.
    I applaud you for recognizing what you need and what climate you were built for. After all, cold is not necessarily a fact of human existence – it is just a fact that we northern types have had to craft stories around and venerate as necessary slumber lest we go mad mourning the flight of the spring.

  3. gartenfische January 7, 2008 / 11:11 pm

    I think you are right on about acceptance. For many of us, winter is simply unwanted, unappreciated, unliked (I really disllike being cold). I feel my psyche turning dark along with the shorter days and I don’t like that, but perhaps it is a natural part of the cycle. To spend half the year waiting for the weather to change seems foolish.

Leave a Reply

