An Adventageous Snow

http://www.imageafter.com/image.php?image=b3_landscapes016.jpg&size=full&download=noAfter a long drive home in the snow this afternoon I spent a while glancing through other blogs and websites as I waited for the plows to come by (only then would it make sense to shovel the driveway so my husband could park when he got home from work well after dark). Out of the tangle of ideas that flickered over the screen, one word kept rising to the surface: Advent. Even as my interest in Catholicism has resurged over the past year, I don’t think I even remembered that the Christmas season used to mean something other than the mall was open later and the cats would invariably get into the wrapping paper.

Glancing at my post from yesterday, I realize that I included a photo of a single candle flame and spoke of “inner light.” I am amazed both by the dancing, overlapping layers of meaning that flow through all aspects of this life and by my own obliviousness to a tradition that would have been interlaced throughout my childhood. The anticipation of opening another window on the advent calendar… Vague recollections of purchasing an advent wreath engraved with Celtic knots for a high school boyfriend’s parents… The circle of candles at the right side of the altar every December… I suppose because it is about celebration rather than deprivation, Advent was easier to forget. “I’ll give that up for Lent” has been a catch phrase for years (I generally stick to my grandmother’s abstention from watermelons), but Advent? That’s kids’ stuff.

I will not demean this time of religious observance by drawing too many parallels to my own life, lest I seem to co-opt the anticipation of the birth of Christ only in order to explicate my own sense that I am waiting for something (something that is much less universal than the arrival of the savior, I must admit). Instead, I will simply celebrate the fact that the light that so eluded me yesterday and left me to see only the limitations of my situation has filtered down today despite the snow choked sky.

Two guys who jumped out of their pick up to push my less than intrepid vehicle up a hill. Enjoying a few hours outside of time when the world has to stop because the Mother declares it time to cover all of creation in a blanket of white peace. Returning to my sources of inspiration and finding them more valid and enlivening that ever.

Yes, it is indeed possible to believe that a light that is the presence of the Divine dwells within us all and can shine as brightly as one might wish – in fact, I think it just might be the only way.

2 thoughts on “An Adventageous Snow

  1. Mish Lee December 14, 2007 / 4:41 pm

    I had to google Advent. Learn something new every day, expectedly or not.

    The sun’s light is still bright, even if we can’t see it because of an eclipse.

    I have to finally step up and make some of those changes that I imagine in the moments before I fall asleep each night.

    From your previous post. One of the things I came away with from Perkins’ Shapeshifting: Turning dreams (not to be confused with fantasies) into reality. Solidifying and giving shape to the mind & heart’s energy. The power of the mind isn’t given enough credit these days.

  2. ruaidhri December 21, 2007 / 7:47 am

    Happy Midwinter!

    Hope you’re having a nice solstice. Also happy christmas, natalis solis invictus, saturnalia, and my new favorite Happy Brumalia!

    Be sure to have a nice bottle of wine or some pints of beer in worship of Dionysus/Bacchus-now thats a proper religion! 🙂

    Ruaidhri

    P.S your midwinter surprise has been delayed by matters outside of my control but will be sent off to you in early January!

Leave a Reply

